Crab holes!

Hi all!

It’s been pretty dreary in Singapore with periodic showers throughout the day as we enter into the monsoon season. Even as I write this post, it is pouring right outside my window. To take a break from studying, I headed to Pasir Ris Park for some cycling a few weeks back. It has been a while since I’ve headed to a beach. But as I cycled through the park, I was glad to have stumbled upon this small (but pretty) beach with its blue skies, green grass, almost no crowd and twig/leaves/what-not free sand.

Most importantly, I could see some semblance of a blue colour gradient effect in the waters! Pretty surprising considering this is Singapore we’re talking about. We don’t really boast of idyllic beaches like those in the Langkawi, Phuket and the list goes on.

IMG_7971
IMG_8031

IMG_7987

Cycling along the path away from the beach, I could see people training parrots on the grass patch and kelongs (offshore platforms for rearing fish) in the distance.

 

IMG_8035

Right at the end of the cycling path would be this vast beach-flat (?). I’m not exactly sure what is the term for it but all I can associate with it is a mudflat. But it’s not even remotely close to a mudflat so let’s just go with beach-flat ;). Anyway, I spent most of my time here just watching little crabs scrambling out of their crab-holes and scrambling back in with the slightest human movement. It was quiteย entertaining and therapeutic and at the end of the day as my camera battery died, I went home feeling quite at peace with myself.

IMG_8047
IMG_8075

IMG_8063

Bye.

 

Leave a Reply

